

LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE JAMES J. DONELON COMMISSIONER



MEETING MINUTES

LOUISIANA AUTOMOBILE THEFT & INSURANCE FRAUD PREVENTION AUTHORITY

Wednesday, March 12, 2014 10:00 am
Plaza Hearing Room
1702 North Third Street, Poydras Building
Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Members present: Chairman Warren Byrd, Vice Chairman Don Resweber, Cleve Franklin,

Richard Hagey, Thomas Jeter, Thomas McCormick, Lt. Trevor Smith

Members absent: Terrance Apple, David Clements, Willard Hamilton, Rep. Mike Huval

<u>Staff present:</u> Director Jeffrey Zewe, Assistant Director Kevin Smith

Chairman Byrd called the meeting to order at 10:11 am.

Vice Chairman Resweber moved to approve the minutes of the December 11, 2013 meeting and Mr. Hagey seconded the motion. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, the minutes were approved without objection.

Chairman Byrd introduced Jeffrey Zewe as the new Director of LATIFPA. Mr. Jeter moved to accept Mr. Zewe as Director; the motion was seconded by Lt. Smith. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, Mr. Zewe was approved as Director of LATIFPA without objection.

Director Zewe reported on LATIFPA income, expenditures, donations and spending authority. The report was accepted as given.

Director Zewe reported on legislative issues of interest to LATIFPA. The report was accepted as given.

Assistant Director Smith reported on School Curriculum Presentations and other Community Events. The report was accepted as given.



LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE



JAMES J. DONELON COMMISSIONER

Ileana Ledet, LDI Deputy Commissioner of Public Affairs, reported on the LATIFPA Public Awareness Campaign for FY 2013-2014. Mr. Franklin asked that the Board Members be kept aware of current public awareness campaigns by sending them, when possible, copies of advertisements actively being used. The report was accepted as given.

Director Zewe and Deputy Commissioner Ledet discussed the High School Interactive Program "Protect My Ride Louisiana". Mr. Franklin moved and Mr. Hagey seconded that the formal Notice of the Program be sent no later than August 15, 2014 with a submission deadline of December 15, 2014. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, the motions were approved without objection.

Allen Applewhite, National Insurance Crime Bureau, reported on the LPR Program and Activity. The report was accepted as given.

Allen Applewhite, National Insurance Crime Bureau, reported on the Bait Vehicle Program and Activity. The report was accepted as given.

Director Zewe discussed the availability of funds for purposes of awarding a License Plate Recognition system. Chairman Byrd moved and Mr. Jeter seconded that LATIFPA award an LPR system to the next qualified entity. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, the motion was approved without objection. Mr. Franklin moved and Mr. Smith seconded that the LATIFPA Steering Committee on Equipment Purchases convene for purposes of awarding an LPR system to the next qualified entity. After allowing for public comment, of which there was none, the motion was approved without objection.

Mr. Zewe announced that the next regularly scheduled meeting of the LATIFPA Board of Directors would be held on June 11, 2014 at 10:00 am.

With no further business, Mr. Franklin moved to adjourn the meeting. Vice Chairman Resweber seconded the motion. Without objection, the meeting was adjourned at 11:23 am.